New Week to Reconnect to Goals

In an effort to break through some barriers, I’m giving up the drinks for awhile. I’ve talked about how they have gotten in my way in the past – one glass of wine turns into 3, and then all of a sudden I lose all self control and I’m eating pepperoni pizza dipped in ranch dressing. It’s a slippery slope – and I feel like if I can make it through without bread, pasta, rice and cookies – then I can probably dredge up the will power to cut out alcohol for awhile. That makes me sound like a big lush – which I’m not. But in my group of friends, that’s what tends to bring us together – grabbing a drink, Meeting for drinks. Let’s have a party and eat and drink and be merry!

It’s fun. But being stuck at the same weight (which is LOWER than i’ve been in awhile – not complaining about that) – but not being able to break through is frustrating. I’ve also slacked off on my exercising. The last few weeks have been stressful and I’ve found myself feeling exhausted after work instead of ready to tackle a work out. So I guess the next few months will be reconnecting to my goals in a sense. Trying to breakthrough this plateau despite a lot of stress at work on the horizon.

I do find that one good thing about not drinking at get-togethers is that I don’t wake up feeling like crap, and I actually go to sleep a lot earlier on the weekends for the most part. I’m not going to complain about that, either. Especially when I’ve been feeling so tired!

I”m looking forward to starting this next week with energy on my goals. Reminding myself of how far I’ve come and how many healthy decisions I’ve made for myself over the past year – and I’m not going to throw that all down the drain just because life gets complicated. I’m starting easy – planning to keep up my workout class (obviously), but want to try and walk/interval speeds 4 days a week for about 30-45 minutes. And of course, keep working on my pulls ups, push ups, squats and planks 2x a week. Keep laying off the sugar and unhealthy carbs – focus on eating my protein, healthy fats and lots of veggies. No empty calories – water, water, water, and okay, one coffee per day. A girl has to draw the line somewhere!

2 Comments

Filed under Challenge, family, food, goals, health, Life, primal, work out

2 responses to “New Week to Reconnect to Goals

  1. I have definitely become more lax on my alcohol consumption. I definitely need to re-evaluate some goals this week!

  2. I know the feeling. It’s great that you recognize the problem and have come up with a solution. So many people continue to live in denial about things like this and they spiral out of control. The great thing about this weight loss journey is that you’re always learning more about yourself and making life better in the long run. I”m sure if you ever come across another obstacle, you’ll find a positive solution. Healthy Journey!

Leave a Reply

