The Big 1-0-0!

Go me!

I can’t believe it – but my post today is my 100th blog post! This has been quite the journey so far. But I’m still excited to be on this 30Story adventure – because writing this blog has been a great motivator, a built in accountability partner, a place where I’ve found some new friends, reconnected with old ones – and it has inspired me to try new things and challenge myself in different ways! I never really thought a blog could do all that.

But here I am, 100 posts in, and still going strong.

I’m still learning what makes people want to read my blog, and I’m pretty sure I still have a lot to learn on that account. My life isn’t all that exciting, so I appreciate the people who do read it for hanging in their on my boring “let me tell you about my day” posts.

As a result of my request for resources and opinions about my upcoming food challenge – I’ve been overwhelmed with great ideas and information. Thank you to everyone who reached out to me either here or on FB or wherever to send me your thoughts, personal experiences and the like. It means a lot.

Book to read!

I got really excited about a book a friend suggested, especially because I heard the recommendation from several people after that – so it made me want to get it immediately. Thank goodness for my Kindle – because it’s the device of instant gratification. I immediately purchased Wheat Belly by Dr. William Davis. While I’m only about 40 pages into it – I’ve already learned a lot. The first part of the book is a lot of history about wheat – and how over the years “wheat” is not really what it first started out as. The “breaking of the bread” from biblical times looked a lot different from what we make sandwiches with now…and I’ve discovered a lot of the manipulation of wheat has turned it into something that may not be so great for us. It’s pretty fascinating, but overwhelming as well.

I’m finding myself having these future thoughts of my life if I were to give up wheat. And all of a sudden, I’m spiraling down this deep dark hole, thinking about my future child being in elementary school having cupcakes delivered to his/her  classroom and how hard it will be to raise kids wheat free. And then I think to myself – Dre, you can’t worry about life later, you have to decide what’s right for you in this moment and go with it. The rest will be figured out. But it’s pretty easy to see why I’m feeling stressed about it since I can’t control myself from thinking about the trials and tribulations of my unborn children eating wheat. Seriously, I should calm down.

But anyway – this morning I did a little test. Usually when I do my AM workouts, I ignore that I’m hungry until I get to work so I can eat my normal breakfast (whole wheat english muffin, turkey sausage, 2% cheddar cheese). But my stomach was rumbling this morning after my 55 minute cardio workout, so I decided to do a basic Shakelogy drink. I checked out the ingredients to see if there was any wheat hiding in there – it looked safe. So I just did a scoop of that, 1 cup of skim milk and some ice, blended it up and I was ready to go. I had that about 6:30 this morning and it must have been less than 200 calories and I didn’t have a rumble in my tumble until about 10am this morning. That was pretty cool.

So then at 10am, I made my usual  breakfast (typically I do it the other way around, Shake as a snack around 10 or so) and here it is like 25 minutes later and I’m super hungry again. Like I could seriously eat ANOTHER breakfast. Interesting, right? I would estimate my typical breakfast being about 350 calories – so you would think it would be more filling than the 200 or less Shake.

Over the next few weeks as I continue to freak myself out read this book along with other resources, I’m going to try and take note of all the things I eat that are wheat products. I am going to try and pinpoint how I feel after I eat them vs. how I feel when I avoid them. It’s my goal to start reducing the amount of wheat I eat over the next few weeks as I learn more about better options for me. I’ve been told that eliminating wheat from your diet can be really terrible for the first few days – similar to giving up any other type of addiction. I guess that just goes to show that it IS a problem if your body goes through withdrawals, right? Can something like that really be good for you?

I will keep you posted on my progress of course. I won’t actually be doing anything full blown for another few weeks because I want to continue my research on this topic before I commit fully to one thing or the other. But as you might have guessed, I’m pretty sure that eliminating wheat from my diet will be a part of my next challenge.

Thanks for tuning in – I hope you’ll continue to join me on my 30Story for the NEXT 100 blog posts!

2 Comments

Filed under Challenge, food, goals, health, Life, Real Food, resources, weight loss, what i'm eating, work out

2 responses to “The Big 1-0-0!

  1. Congrats on the 100 posts! I have loved reading your blog!

    And that’s interesting about wheat… might be something I have to look into eventually. I definitely have a problem with my carb intake and really need to work on that. I will be looking forward to what you have to say and might have to put that book on to my reading list this summer!

  2. Pingback: Weekend Review: The Wheat Wean | thirtystory

Leave a Reply

