One hour: What’s it worth?

Question of the Day: One hour – is it worth it?

My story:

I asked myself this question as I was brushing my teeth this morning. I still had that foggy feeling when you first wake up, you can’t really see yourself all that clearly and when you walk you feel a little off balance. It was just super early. I had already changed into my work out clothes and had this big thought: Wait, this is my recovery week! Shouldn’t I just replace my AM workout with my Turbo class tonight?The morning routine called for 45 minutes of cardio and 10 minutes of stretch…so that is basically what I do in my evening TurboKick class.

I thought about how awesome it would be to just go back to bed. Snuggle into my pillow and pull the covers up and enjoy one delicious hour of SNOOZE.

Then I thought about that one hour. Would sleeping in for ONE more hour really make me feel all that much better? Or would I feel guilty for skipping my workout for an hour of sleep?

Or if I did go ahead and work out as scheduled this morning, would it make me feel better? Better than an hour of sleep?

This was a lot of thought happening in my foggy brain at 5:30am. I decided working out was more in line with my long term goals. Short term, I would have loved an extra hour of sleep. But my long term goal is to lose weight and be fit. This week is my 2nd month result week – and if I want to see true change by the end of this THREE month program – I have to put in the extra time and effort to make it happen.

Bringing it Home

Too often we are shortsighted when it comes to our decision making. We go for the instant gratification option instead of holding steady for that long term goal. I am definitely guilty of making these decisions as well – but I’m glad to say this morning I found the inner motivation to see beyond an extra hour of sleep. For me, it goes back to my priority statement that I wrote out on November 2011:

My number one priority is being 100% present in mind, body, and spirit for my family, friends, AND myself. I want my mind to be goal oriented and calm. I want my body to be strong and healthy so I can be around for a long time and enjoy every day of my life. I want my spirit to feel nourished and whole so that I can have a strong relationship with God and be a good role model for my family and friends. I want to always remember that being there for other people is a crucial part of who I am, but I can be more helpful and supportive when I am also taking care of myself. I want to achieve the best version of myself.

As I was debating on what I really wanted to do this morning, I remembered my priorities should be about improving myself every day. Sometimes that will be through exercise and healthy eating, sometimes that might be through prayer, sometimes it may be about spending time with a friend or family member. But if I want to really see my body be strong and healthy so I can life a long and awesome life – I have to put in the time right now. And an hour of my day – it’s really not that big of a deal.

Someone asked me where I find the motivation to keep up with my workouts on a day-to-day basis. And I’ll tell you this – you end up believing whatever you tell yourself. For better or worse – this is the truth.

So when I tell myself: “Dre you are so tired and going back to bed is really going to be the best thing”….chances are, I’ll believe that and go back to bed. But when I visualize my goals (remember your visual mantra!) & recall my priority statement – it gives me the ability to also tell myself “Dre, you promised yourself to do what it takes to be the best version of you.” And then I can make the decision on what would be best for me. And you have to look beyond that tiny little moment in time and think BIG PICTURE. Of course you are tired, of course you could be doing something else more fun – but in the grand scheme of things, what is it that will help you stay on track with your goals?

And having those goals in my mind, literally seeing them floating around in my head is what keeps me going. Do I have days where I don’t feel like working out? Absolutely. But 9 times out of 10 when I feel that way, about 5-10 minutes into my workout, I’ve forgotten that I didn’t feel like starting in the first place.

And once that hour is over – I feel like I’ve been productive with my time. And I can move on with my day knowing that I started out the day making a GOOD decision that is line with my long term goals.

So if you are struggling to find motivation for making good choices – I would encourage you to actually spend some time writing out your goals. Write your own priority statement. Post it somewhere you’ll see it often (I have mine hung up at my desk at work) so when you are feeling weak and tired or just plain lazy – you can recall why you are doing this in the first place.

I promise you – You are worth it! Invest quality time in…YOU.

2 Comments

Filed under goals, health, Life, motivation, weight loss, work out

2 responses to “One hour: What’s it worth?

  1. Elizabeth Minei

    Good Motivation Dre!

  2. Whoo hoo! I struggle with that motivation… especially in the morning! But I have been definitely trying to improve and do a lot more physical things even when I am feeling exhausted… and this goes passed just working out… but actually doing more active things in my life or volunteering to do manual labor. Then if I do skip a work out, it won’t be too bad because something later on is going to be physically demanding…and I don’t want to skip out on life! That was my whole reason for becoming fit!

Leave a Reply

