Tall Tales from the Scale

So – it’s been a few minutes (read: days) since I blogged last and I’m sending my apologies as I do try to update 3-4 times a week as well as comment on all my lovely blog friend posts!

I was at a staff “retreat” last week and just wasn’t having my normal breaks to write a blog and all that jazz. But, I’m back – it’s Monday and I figure I will try and jump back in to my normal posting patterns this week.

Speaking of normal patterns – I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I think I am becoming old a total creature of habit.

Last week’s crazy schedule of not being in the office, not having my own snacks and food for lunch totally threw me off. I got on the scale on Friday and it said I gained 5 pounds.

SERIOUSLY?

Considering this.

 

I rolled my eyes and threw my scale back into the linen closet where it can die a slow death for all I care right now. I’m not really even sure that it’s physically possible to gain 5 pounds over the span of a week particularly when you are still working out. I was still eating my same breakfast, and even though the snacks weren’t MY snacks – they consisted of animal crackers and some nuts which while I know they aren’t extremely nutritious – i don’t think they are overly ridiculous or 5 pounds of weight gain worthy!?

Other contributing factors would start with me admitting that switching up my day off last week was a bad idea. I’m going back to Wednesdays as my day off this week. In order to not work out for 2 weeks straight without a break so I can return to my Wednesday off day – I worked out on Wednesday this week and skipped Thursday. I was feeling sort of crappy on Thursday anyway and I think my body was just needing a break. Somehow, I’m starting my EIGHTH week of my TurboFire program today and I guess I’m not surprised that I just needed to get some sleep and chill out.

By taking Thursday off, this means I have to accept that I skipped one workout on Sunday of last week ( I was planning to make it up) after my birthday party. But when I think about my commitment to working out 6 days a week for 8 weeks -I’ve only missed ONE workout?! I’m happy with that! And even though I may have skipped one workout (and at least it was just the long stretch/core one)  – I get an extra workout in every Tuesday since I teach Turbo at my gym anyway…so I’m not feeling too  guilty.

I’m still irritated that the scale said I gained a small infant in one week, and I’m placing bets that things will be more normal this next week. I’m trying to remember my own advice that the scale just reflects a number…and obviously my body is wacko sometimes. Or maybe it’s time to buy a new scale. 🙂 Anyone else have ridiculous results like that sometimes?

Despite my miniature dog sized weight gain, I went to the outlets this weekend with the husband before we met up with my dad to take him out for a father’s day dinner and I found some fabulous deals at the new LOFT outlet. I was even able to buy a skirt in a size smaller than I’ve ever bought before – so take THAT 5 pound weight gain!

The lesson I’m trying to take from this is that really – it’s about how we feel and look versus that stupid number on the scale. I’m not going to let it define me OR my progress. By the end of this week I will have logged almost 60 work outs in 8 weeks time. I am stronger, faster, more flexible, more capable and more fit than I was a the beginning of all this and I know this because of how it feels when I workout now. I’m just better at it and can push myself to do things that I couldn’t do before. This is progress. This is success.

Stepping on a scale is sometimes the worst thing I can do for myself at the end of the week and I’ve considered just checking in once a month and continuing my weekly measurements of waist, hips, chest, etc to make sure I’m on track. Thoughts? What do you do and if you are actively trying to lose weight – do you think weighing in once a month is enough to keep you on track?

1 Comment

Filed under food, goals, health, Life, motivation, weekend review, weight loss, work out

One response to “Tall Tales from the Scale

  1. Ugh. I hate it when that happens… but it can seriously be anything… too much salt… water weight… accidentally eating a little more without realizing it… not eating enough… Oh weight loss, you fickle brat. haha I am really bad and weigh myself every day because it is the only way I can be focused, if I go by how I feel, I always over-eat. :/ So I am definitely not the right person to ask!

Leave a Reply

