Obligatory Birthday Post

No, seriously – pay attention to me. 🙂

I’ve written a lot of birthday posts in my life. Some celebrating others, some reminiscing about things I’ve learned so how about another birthday post for my ever growing collection?

Today is 31 for me. My friend/boss asked me if I felt any older today and as I pouring a ginormous amount of coffee into my amazing Tervis Tumbler (Thanks Caroline!) I said – “No, not really.” She then proceeded to ask me if I was having any new pains or aches, and I just smiled and admitted that I think I’d always had those and getting older had nothing to do with it!

Here’s the thing – I feel better about myself and my health at 31 than I ever did at 21. I am more active, more educated, and more energetic at this point in my life than I’ve probably ever been. My fitness mentor (Chalene Johnson), says that building muscles and working out is the true fountain of youth and I totally can get behind that statement. I hope I remain active for the rest of my life – as of right now, that’s my game plan.

Today marks yet another first for me. This is the first time in all of my 31 years that I’ve woken up early to work out on my birthday. As much as I hated my life this morning when my alarm went off at 5:30, I realized that making time for healthy habits is the best gift I can ever give to myself. It took me a long time to figure all this out…but as I’ve “grown up” over the last few years I’ve finally figured out I need to be taking care of myself in order to be fit to take care of anyone else in my life. It’s not selfish, it’s necessary. And I’m glad to have figured it out by 31 instead of 41.

This next year holds lots of opportunity and promise for my life and I’m extremely excited about it. I know a lot of people who stop celebrating their birthdays because they don’t want to be out of their 20’s – but I’m embracing every day I get here and trying to see it as another opportunity to do something awesome. I have heard a lot of women say that their 30’s were the best decade of their life because they finally were comfortable with themselves and knew what they wanted out of life. 30 was a good year for me, but 31 is going to be even better because I’m going to work hard to make sure I’m squeezing all the good stuff out of it along the way before I give it up for 32.

I am so thankful (appropriate since today is THANKFUL THURSDAY!!!) for amazing friends and family in my life both near and far, old and new. It’s hard to keep in touch with every single person in my life and I’m blessed to have such awesome people in my life who work to stay connected with me even when I’m not always awesome at it. After re-reading my blog from last year (Note titled: 30 in the bag – for those of you who are my FB friends) I’m really pleased to feel like I’ve progressed this year with a lot of the goals I set for myself.

But as always – every year brings new trials and the  chance for change. Mostly, I’m looking forward to a new year of opportunities to push myself more than I ever have before. So 31 -bring it. I am open to all your possibilities.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under family, goals, health, just for fun, Life, motivation, relationships, thankful thursday, work out

2 responses to “Obligatory Birthday Post

  1. YAY!!! Happy Birthday!! I am so proud of you that instead of making the excuse that it is your birthday, you still worked out! Congrats. =D

Leave a Reply

