A New Day

I’m feeling better today. Thanks for those of you who reached out.

Emotional Eating 101

 

Today is a New Day. It’s a Thursday, which also means that tomorrow is weigh in day. After my weekend of “family style eating” I’m hoping that keeping up with my workouts and being (mostly) on track this week will mean good things for tomorrow. I did let my emotions get the better of me yesterday. I had a glass of wine, some olives and a mini organic dark chocolate bar after work (see my amazing photo skills).

On the up side, instead of getting a giant chocolate bar, I got the little one which was only 190 calories (although I’ll admit I couldn’t bring myself to check the calories until I finished). I only had ONE glass of wine which I slowly sipped. And I don’t know – olives just seemed like a good idea. I love olives and can’t  believe I haven’t been eating them my entire life. What was wrong with me? So many years without olives, I’m ashamed. Of course, I didn’t eat the chocolate and olives together – don’t be crazy. I spread out my emotional eating over the course of the evening. 🙂

We had a light dinner though – grilled ham & swiss on some light bread and our squash casserole we made over the weekend. Yesterday was my one day off from working out, and I hate that I ended up spending it feeling so down in the dumps instead of just enjoying my down time. I did spend most of the evening curled up reading a book which is something I don’t get to do very often.

On happier notes, my deck furniture arrived yesterday and looks like we’ll be slowly putting together the chairs, umbrella and table over the next few evenings. My husband has already read reviews of putting together this furniture and is preparing me for it to be long and frustrating. YAY! There is nothing I enjoy more than to watch my husband become frustrated while putting together furniture. (riiiiighhhht). There will probably be on going picture updates of me drinking more wine or pouring him beer to soothe his our nerves as this project plays outs.

In terms of “lessons learned” and a last minute attempt to contribute to my “Thankful Thursday” idea (I’m a slacker on this, I know):

I am thankful that I didn’t end up being ridiculous about my emotional eating yesterday. I could have stopped for a giant milkshake (totally done that before), or gone out to eat for lunch and then picked up something equally fatty and fried for dinner. I’d like to think that my attempt to still be in control in some way, shape or form is a sign of personal progress. I feel good about the fact that what I did indulge in didn’t make me feel sick or totally derail me from my goals.

I’d love to think that one day I won’t want to turn to food to make me feel better. I guess sometimes I do consider going to work out when I’m feeling stressed out, but now that I’m working out 6 days a week – I just couldn’t bring myself to workout on my ONE day off from it. So i guess there is still room for growth here, isn’t there always?

I hope to bring you good news tomorrow on my progress, after all tomorrow is another new day. All my fingers and toes are crossed. Yours should be, too.

Leave a comment

Filed under food, goals, health, Life, relationships, Results, thankful thursday, what i'm eating, work out

Leave a Reply

