Weekend Review

Here we are again, with our dear friend, MONDAY.

I had a pretty nice weekend, lots of friends and running errands. I’m happy to announce that I once again completed all 3 of my weekend workouts – Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I have to say that Saturdays Core 20 and Stretch 40 was the hardest to get through. I just can’t get into the long stretch one – it drives me crazy. But I’m still going to do it because it’s part of the whole process and I am assuming it’s included for a reason.

I had a few setbacks with food this weekend, namely a neighbor who shall not be named coming over and brainwashing us all into eating yummy brownies and peanut butter cups. I was doing so well until then! Oh well, can’t change the past just gotta do better today and in the future.

We bought an attachment for our Kitchen Aid mixer – the meat grinder. My hubby has been wanting this attachment every since we got the mixer – so after about 4 trips to 4 different stores, we found it. He made fresh burgers for us to eat this week for dinner – so I’ll check back in on how awesome (or not awesome) they are later this week.

I also decided that it was time to buy deck furniture. We had the deck built right after we got married and it was one of THE BEST INVESTMENTS ever – we use it all the time. But we’ve put off buying anything nice for it. But after almost 2 years of talking about deck furniture, I decided that as my birthday present, that’s what I wanted and I’d put any money I got from family for my birthday toward the cost. I’m sure that will only put a small dent in the total cost, but I have realized that buying cheap furniture is one of those “you get what you pay for” things. It will be delivered next Wednesday and I’m SUPA excited. We’ll have it time for my birthday!

In addition to spending money we don’t really have this weekend, we celebrated my husbands friends’ birthday. It’s a big shin-dig every year with one always present ingredient: Upside Down Apple Pie Shots. So imagine a wide range of ages (like 25-50+) taking a seat in the “shot chair” (it leans back a bit) and then 3 people hovering over you pouring 1) Apple Juice 2) Vodka 3) Dash of whip cream into your mouth.  There is also a towel that gets placed over your neck/chest so you don’t mess up your clothes in case there is a spill. It’s pretty funny to watch, or to help pour (I was the apple juice pourer for much of the night). Some of the older folks there were so against it saying “that’s what I used to do when i was young” and they’d get convinced to just do it once and they had so much fun they asked for another. It’s sort of like a rite of passage at this party. You would never think it’s really all that big of a deal – but it became the main show of the night. I didn’t partake, although I have tried it once a few years ago at this same party. I’m not a fan of shots or apples…so this is not really for me.

Anyway, it was a fun night and it reminds me that no matter what birthday you may be celebrating, it’s a great excuse to reconnect with old friends, make new ones and just have a good time. I hope to never stop officially celebrating my birthday!

This morning, I had a doc’s appointment to have this spot checked out on my back. They ended up “removing it” during the appointment and will send it out for a biopsy. I’m hoping that it’s no big deal, guess I’ll find out in a week or so. But now that the numbing agent has worn off, the place on my back is really hurting. 😦

So on the docket for this week:

  • I’m on week FOUR of my TurboFIRE program. So this week it’s really heating up…almost all of my workouts are a solid hour now. I’ll be taking updated pictures at the end of the week.
  • This weekend we are heading to Kentucky to visit my family for Memorial Day, so that’s going to be rough – trying to get my workouts in at someone else’s house. So…hopefully i’ll be able to figure something out. I need to really have a game plan before I go.
  • My office switched to summer schedule this week – so that means I have to be here from 8am-5:30 vs. 8:30-5. While this DOES mean that i get off at 11:30am on Fridays, what it REALLY means is i have to wake up at an ungodly hour to even think about a pre-work workout. *sigh* This week will be a super challenge!

Okay – more later, just wanted to give an update of the weekend. Despite not being TOTALLY on track with my food, I’m 100% proud of myself for giving it my all in the weekend workouts. WOOT!

 

1 Comment

Filed under family, food, goals, health, Life, motivation, weekend review, work out

One response to “Weekend Review

  1. Sounds like a fun weekend! Gosh darn neighbors and their deadly desserts… unfortunately, I am one of those neighbors. haha Because I can’t really eat what I bake, but I love baking! It is a terrible cycle! lol So I pass it on to other people… oops! And that Apple Pie Shot sounds delicious! And it sounds like a lot of fun… may have to try it sometime…

Leave a Reply

