Weekend Review

As I consider things that make me think twice about making bad decisions, I find that realizing I’m going to have to fess up to it in a public way helps me stay accountable. As I was driving to work this morning I had the idea of doing a weekend review post on Mondays so I can start being more accountable over the weekend if I have to share it with my readers.

The hubs and I made a promise to try and avoid acting like we were in our early 20’s every weekend after a few weekends of doing that and realizing that we are not 20 anymore. So this weekend, we came home on Friday and just hung out. He broke his cell phone screen, so this guy came over who can fix the broken screen for way cheaper than it would be for us to pay for insurance or (God forbid) a new phone. He came over pretty late, so we didn’t end up eating dinner until almost 9. I let them have “boy talk time” upstairs as I went downstairs to  catch up on some of the DVR’d shows. Yes, I watched American Idol on Friday night. A long way from cool, I realize – but whatevs. I’m a grown up and i can do boring things and enjoy them if i want, too. :p

We had a delicious dinner that the hubby prepared. I had grilled pork chops (center cut) and some egg noodles and corn on the cob. We also had some extra veggies so we did a side salad. Yummo.

We went to bed at a reasonable time as my husband works on Saturdays so we try not to be too crazy on Friday nights. I seriously slept in until about 1030am and it was amazing. My back had been hurting the day before and was pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to sleep in at all (I wake up fairly often because my backs hurts too much to continue sleeping), but it was heavenly to sleep in as it was raining and just that kind of day. Eventually, I woke up and decided I would make myself some pancakes.

Consider this breakfast AND lunch.

 

I used the Reduced Fat Bisquick mix and I do the heart healthy version of the recipe on the box. They were pretty good. I added some walnut chips (because I’m awesome) and used light syrup. I measured everything out and made half of the original recipe. The full recipe produces 14 pancakes so I figured I’d make half and then save some of them for later. It worked out well. I even measured out a tablespoon of butter and realized that way way more than I needed which was a nice feeling so I didn’t use it all. I also measured out a serving of the syrup. It’s easy to over pour on things like that – measuring in advance is a great tool to keep your calories in check. I’m feeling like breakfast went pretty well. I even managed to drink some fruit juice with it.

 

 

Awwwww, who's the brownest dog of them all?

 

I also had dog training class with my dog, Yoshi. If you haven’t met him yet – he’s our favorite brown dog in the world. You can see why.

 

We worked on getting the frisbee out of his mouth without it turning into a full own wrestling match. It was amazing to watch him work with the trainer. He seems like a totally different dog (behaved, well mannered, etc.) when he has someone who actually know what they are doing work with him. I realized a few weeks back that it’s me and my husband the trainer is actually training. That’s okay – I’m pretty sure you can still teach old humans new tricks.

Fortunately, the hubs was able to join us for this training session and we immediately went to the grocery store to buy food for the week. Another way to keep your food bills and calories in check is to shop for the whole week in advance and know what meals you are going to be serving/eating. On this weeks list: Turkey Enchiladas (RJ’s special recipe), Turkey & Cheese Sandwiches with Salad, Chicken Stir Fry (Classic Dre recipe as it’s the only thing I’m really good at making), and Chicken Sausage Pizza. YUM!

 

We had a neighborhood Oyster Roast on Saturday night, so we made a Texas Bean Dip thing to bring. I like to bring healthy dishes to parties like that so i know at least SOMETHING there is okay to indulge in. At the Oyster Roast, there wasn’t a whole lot of “main food fare” for me since I don’t eat Oysters and while they had shrimp – they were like…legs still on and even though my husband peeled them for me (yes, I’m a baby) I could hardly bring myself to eat them. Just a little too…REAL, you know?

Unfortunately, there was buffalo chicken dip and these delicious little brownie bites. So i had a few of those. But over all, it wasn’t a terrible night since I had only eaten my pancakes earlier in the day. I had 3 LIGHT beers and I must admit that I’m a fan of Michelob Ultra Lime Cactus and Bud Light Lime. I know it’s cheap, and it sort of tastes like water, but it makes me happy and it makes me feel like it’s summer time.

Sunday usually means breakfast out at one of our local favs. But we didn’t get there until about 11am, so I ordered lunch. Grilled chicken with onions and mushrooms, sweet potato, and I splurged on some mac&cheese. Not terrible for an eat out meal. We wasted a lot of our time on Sunday just shopping around, but it was nice to just have some down time without an intense schedule with my husband. Later in the day we went to one of our favorite bars, Mac’s Speed Shop and enjoyed ONE beer and….we split a small appetizer. So that wasn’t a good life choice, but I’m at least fessing up, right?

We came back home and took the dogs down to the creek/river near our house to let them play. Yoshi loves the water (as all big brown chocolate labs do I suppose) and he likes to chase after a tennis ball in the creek and bring it back to us. His sister, Peach, loves to attack Yoshi as he gets near us with the ball. So it’s a good time for everyone.

Tough Life, Peach.

 

Once we got back home, we spent the rest of the daylight hours enjoying our back deck and the dogs dried out on their koolaroos. We enjoyed the last 3 of our 6 pack we had bought for the night before and made lunches for the week. We sort of forgot about buying dinner for Sunday evening (FAIL!) so we ended up buying some potato gnocchi at World Market during our travels, and added our leftover chicken sausage and marinara and served it with a side of brussel sprouts left over from last week. Not bad for scraps. We tried to watch Toy Story 2 on tv, but I was bored so I headed upstairs to shower and get ready for bed. We seriously were sleeping by 10 or 10:30 (I always read before sleeping) and while that might sound pathetic to some – I enjoyed sleeping for 9 hours immensely.

So – not a terrible weekend all in all. It felt good sleeping in and not feeling like crap the next day after too much fun the night before. Okay – so that’s my weekend review. How did you do?

2 Comments

Filed under family, food, goals, health, Life, weight loss, what I'm drinking, what i'm eating

2 responses to “Weekend Review

  1. Sounds like a wonderful weekend! I love the name Yoshi! (totally my favorite video game character…). My fiance and I are trying to do better with not being completely crazy on the weekends (when I am not up North). We have a 10 year age difference between us, and I am not a huge “do crazy things” person but he is one that gives into peer pressure easier…

    I have also learned to bring healthier foods to get-togethers. I really love the Skinnytaste website… so many easy appetizers and meals to make and then I know the exact serving size and calories. =)

Leave a Reply

