Meeting the bottom line

As I promised myself, I’ve spent some time thinking about my goals and how I’m going to reach them. If you didn’t get that memo from me, check out one of my recent posts here. Bottom line: I decided that maybe I’m not motivated by anything right now when it comes to the exercising/eating well. I know myself well enough to know that I grow tired of things pretty quickly when it comes to working out. That is good and bad, I suppose. Good because it means I’m constantly trying new things, bad because it would be cheaper to just love one thing! 🙂

As some of you may or may not know, I teach TurboKick at my gym and have done so for the past 2.5 years or so. Teaching an exercise class is an amazing form of accountability. If you let yourself go for more than a day – you can feel it when you are in front of your class trying to make it through an hour of high intensity cardio kickboxing. They are relying on you to give them quite possibly their only workout of the day and all I want to do is make them work hard for an hour and feel like they spent their time wisely with me.

The last month or so, I just haven’t felt myself in Turbo class and that is NOT OKAY! And i know that it’s because I’ve put on some weight from not watching my diet as intently as I need to. I keep living in this world where I think I’m maintaining instead of in weight loss mode – and it’s really messing with me! Anyone else have that problem? When I was close to my ideal weight and feeling good about myself – I could have an occasional splurge and compensate by getting an extra workout in, or pulling back on some of my calories later in the week. It seemed to balance out pretty naturally.

But now that I need to lose weight again – I can’t be splurging whenever I want, I have to be in control. Not just about the food, but how I’m pushing myself to workout and get my fitness on. So none of this is like NEW news to me, I know this. I understand it, I talk to other people about it. Why is it harder to follow your own advice?

Instead of being apathetic and eating cheeseburgers (which actually I don’t eat), I decided to just do some new stuff to get me going again on the right track. I pulled the trigger on the TurboFire program – I’ve been wanting it for awhile and I figured now is the time! It’s similar to the class I teach, but more intensity and uses the concept of HIIT workouts (High Intensity Interval Training) to really get your metabolism roaring and nuke the calories. I haven’t started it yet as I just got it yesterday – but I’ll keep you posted. I have liked the other BeachBody programs I’ve done – so I’m looking forward to this one. I do have a little side business of coaching via BeachBody – so if you have questions, please let me know. I’ve got the inside info!

Today, I also went to the Turbo Instructor Training master class to get my weekend workout on and keep me focused. It was about 2 hours because the instructor was breaking down the sections to help the newbies who will test today to become new instructors! It was good and I even got to go in front and help out on one of the sections. The only part that sort of sucked was that the section I was asked to help with is actually a section I never teach – so I wasn’t a HUGE help, but my friends got a laugh seeing me trying to pretend I knew what i was doing. 🙂

I decided after my workout this morning that I could go not ONE more step in my old shoes. I’ve been putting off getting new shoes because it seems like I can never find the perfect pair. But I went to the shoe store and just tried on a billion and picked the one i liked the best. It was like the stars aligned because when I pulled up to my house and checked the mail – the new round of turbo (Round 49!!) arrived. So of course, I put on my new shoes and went through the new choreography.

Apparently i should get a new pair of shoes every day because it makes me eager to workout and try them!

I had to go out for lunch for a work thing today, but I ordered the salad with grilled chicken, low fat dressing on the side…can I get a WOOT WOOT? Today is a good day to get back on track with my true goals.

It all comes back to that underlying statement about who you want to be – that’s the easy part – just writing it down. The hard part comes in making your daily actions reflect that desire. How are you meeting the bottom line in your life?

1 Comment

Filed under food, goals, health, Life, motivation, resources, weight loss

One response to “Meeting the bottom line

  1. I totally agree ; getting motivated is one of the hardest things to accomplish. If you can get past that hump then you’re well on your way to success. Great post and I look forward to sharing more 🙂

Leave a Reply

