Give me a B…A..L..A..N.. C..E

Balance.

What is that anyway? Perfect alignment? The ability to hold things in place for just long enough? Not falling. Compromise…..in the middle.

I have a lot of thoughts about the word balance. And I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately. At work….at home…in my personal life. My relationships, my family, God, in my work outs. How does it all balance out? Or is that possible?

Tonight I tried out a new workout class at this place called SkyHigh Sports – a ton of people have been talking about it here in the area as it’s brand new. But they have a class called Airobics. Essentially, the entire center is a huge trampoline. The walls are trampolines as well. So they have classes a few times a week that are about 50 minutes in length and you go through a warm up, some jumping exercises and then some more intense cardio, then you do some core work.The new class falls in line with my goal to try a new workout every so often to keep things interesting.

More to the point, it had been a long time since I last graced a trampoline. I have fond memories of going over to a neighbor’s house to jump on theirs – in fact, I’m quite sure that in 2nd grade I only be-friended this neighbor on the far corner of our neighborhood due to the fact she had access to a trampoline.

There is something about jumping with so little resistance – that lack of hard impact no matter how high you jump that always makes me feel like a super hero. We got to class a bit early (I talked my husband into joining me for my first class) – and I immediately found my square on the trampoline and couldn’t resist starting to jumpi higher and higher. I remembered when I was little how I could jump and do the splits in the air and I wondered after all these years if I could still manage it. I could! It was like being 8 years old again.

It was like being transported back to a time when you didn’t fear falling off the trampoline (although we all knew some poor kid who broke his leg doing so), when we didn’t think about pulling a muscle or tweaking our knees. We didn’t worry about throwing out our  back or bumping into a friend. It was just fun, and you didn’t think too much about trying to balance yourself on the trampoline – you just jumped and hoped for the best landing possible. And when you did fall, you just bounced right back up again. Something about that feeling really made me crave a time when things were less complicated.

The reality of my life right now is just trying to be on track. I know what I need to be doing, I know how it’s done…but sometimes I feel like I keep taking too big or too small of a leap and miss the track I’m supposed to be on. I keep losing my balance and instead of just bouncing back – I find myself wavering. And it really does seem the older we get, the more complicated it is to juggle so many things at once. I want so badly just to GO FOR IT! But I find myself making excuses for poor choices instead of just putting one foot directly in front of the other so I can just keep moving forward.

In the end, I’m not sure that I’m ever going to achieve perfect balance – however you define it. After my class tonight – I’m wondering if maybe as a kid I was on to something? Working to jump higher and higher, ignoring the burn in your calves and accepting that even though it was a little scary, the feeling of flying was too impossible to resist. Even though there was a chance I could land wrong, that I really could fly the wrong direction – it didn’t stop me then. Why am I letting it stop me now?

Going for it

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under goals, health, Life, motivation

2 responses to “Give me a B…A..L..A..N.. C..E

  1. Jill

    Hey fitness twin – I posted about Sky High yesterday too! I’m going to check out the Airobics class next Tuesday, I hope.

  2. Pingback: Meeting the bottom line | thirtystory

Leave a Reply

