The Cold Front

Well, it’s Tuesday and I’m finally back at work after a week of vacation and one sick day. And yes, I really was sick (am still sick) yesterday and didn’t decide to extend my vacation. If you don’t believe me, ask my last student appointment – you know the one where I went into a coughing fit and had to go stand on the other side of my office for a few minutes to try and gather myself to talk more. I eventually resorted to writing down ideas for resume edits and asking if she liked them. *sigh* I hate being sick when my main role is to talk to people!

I did go to my chiropractor yesterday as I had scheduled a Monday morning visit because I figured after a week of sleeping in a strange bed, I would want an adjustment right away. Well, when 7am rolled around yesterday, as much as I needed an adjustment I was feeling awful. I called my Doctor and he convinced me to still come in but let me come in later in the day. He said that when we are sick, we should actually get more adjustments so our body was in the best place possible to get better. He also did some sinus work on me which was weird but good. I’ll be going back on Friday.

After a week in Mexico, indulging in countless fruity drinks and unlimited bacon and guacamole every morning….I definitely am ready to get back on track this week. Of course, being sick over the weekend and what not has not helped because I’ve just felt pretty bland and have been eating mostly soup. But at least it is healthy soup.

I’ll be honest – going to an all inclusive and being full of self control was impossible for me. I am too easily tempted by vacation mentality and I guess I really gave in to the idea that it was a once every year or so vacation and I wasn’t going to guilt trip myself about every bite. We did work out a few days, and went on a 2 hour bike trip (more leisurely than a work out, although the heat made you sweat like it was P90X)…but it was better than being completely sedentary all week (i.e. 4 hour naps out in the veranda).

About 3 or so days into our vacation, I started missing my food routine. While I absolutely LOVE to go out to eat – eating out every meal for a whole week was taking it’s toll on my body. This is the girl who grew up going out to eat almost every day. My family’s version of “meal time” was to meet at a fast food joint or the Mexican place before we went on with our evenings.

But with my current food routine – I don’t feel like I’m being starved to death and in fact have difficulty eating everything I’m supposed to eat everyday. The food was really good at the resort – don’t get me wrong. But it’s like anything…too much of a good thing is no good! By the end of the week I was more than ready to get back to our healthy cooking and having (way) less drinks. I don’t drink all the time, so having several days in a row where everywhere you go starting at breakfast you have drinks shoved into your face was a bit of a drastic change. By the end of the week, I was having trouble wearing my rings because of all the extra sodium.

It’s weird – because last time I went to a resort, I don’t remember having these feelings. I don’t remember looking forward to home cooked healthy meals upon our return. I’d like to think that I’ve somehow hit a turning point in my life over the last year. That maybe I’ve finally started to realize what works for my body, what keeps me on the healthy track and how bad it feels when I stray too far for too long. That after all these years of wanting to enjoy healthy habits, maybe I finally am there.

Part of my goals for myself this year was to become the best version of me…and I’m really happy to see this glimmer of true change.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under food, goals, health, Life, vacation, weight loss

One response to “The Cold Front

Leave a Reply

