In Pursuit of the Big Picture

Wow. This is the first week back for students, and my campus is a-buzz with activity. I work in Higher Education, so I still live in a world of semesters and mid terms, spring break and summer “breaks.” Every job has its ebbs and flows, and in my world – the beginning and end of every new semester is always the most crazy time. I work specifically in helping students, employers and faculty with internship experiences – so you can imagine the wave of energy surrounding internships right now.

I also teach two classes during the Spring semester – so my life is even more hectic because I have more to prepare for..and specific times after work that my schedule is non-negotiable. Last week – it was so easy to bring my snacks and meals to work and eat every few hours and feel like I had time to wash my measuring spoons, recycle my juice bottle, walk down the hall to grab some ice cubes for my shake. And this week, it’s been a real wild ride of trying to find  time to still what I need to do to stay on track. I keep looking at the clock and try to negotiate with myself when I’ll have time to eat a snack real quick in between appointments and projects. Even writing this blog entry has taken bits and pieces of my afternoon – but it’s important so I want to make time for it!

In a lot of ways – I am feeling like this is the first week where my results will speak up. Last week I ended up losing about 2 pounds which I thought was amazing. So I guess tomorrow we will see how this week went. It’s funny though, because instead of having a wild week because I went out to eat and ordered the wrongs things, or snacked on junk food…instead my wild week was not having time to eat enough or as regularly as I need to. That is so weird. But good weird, right?

Anyway – I’m sure your life puts up a variety of roadblocks that keep you from staying on track.  According to an article on Psychology Today, “research has shown that, after six months, fewer than half the people who make New Year’s resolutions have stuck with them, and, after a year, that number declines to around ten percent.” That is pretty scary, huh? Particularly if you are still on the NY Resolution Train.

So what does it take to be one of the 10% who actually stick to their goals?

I think the first thing is to not just think of your goal as a new years resolution – make your goal be a LIFE goal, something that is happening because you realized that something had to change in order for you to be a better person. It’s not about the year 2012, and it’s not because there’s a special at the gym and it makes it more affordable to join….the reason you stick to your goals and actually CHANGE is because the goal is something connected to your innermost dreams and thoughts.

I wrote a priority statement for myself in November as I was starting to visualize the person I wanted to become over the next year. Every decision I make, every goal I set has to support this statement. I’ll share with you mine:

My number one priority is being 100% present in mind, body and spirit for my family and friends AND me. I want my mind to be goal oriented and calm. I want my body to be strong and healthy so that I can be around for a long time and enjoy every day of my life. I want my spirit to feel nourished and whole so that I can have a strong relationship with God and be a good role model for my family and friends. I want to always remember that being there for other people is a crucial part of who I am, but I can be more helpful and supportive when I am also taking care of myself. I want to achieve the best version of myself.

November 17, 2011

So losing weight, and eating better is simply a piece of my priority statement. There are also lots of other goals in there, too. Sometimes it’s hard to stick with a goal like “lose weight”…”build muscle”…”read more books”..”spend more time with family”….. because it’s not connected to the bigger picture of who you are and what you want from your life. So if you are having trouble staying on track with your goal…maybe it’s time to sit down and think about the bigger picture pursuit for your life.

What is your priority statement….and how are you living it every single day?

1 Comment

Filed under goals, health, motivation, weight loss

One response to “In Pursuit of the Big Picture

  1. I love this blog a lot! I’m working on the big picture too, but the quieting of the mind and being 100% present is a big thing for me. I feel so detached lately so I really like this blog. I really need to sit down and write things out, not so much for accountability- I mean that helps, but just to get it out. I mean, sometimes I feel like so much goes on inside the spirit and mind, but getting it out is so hard for me. Great blog! Wish I had a fan base- I’d prob start one of these up too. I know I don’t need one, and that it’s for me, but support helps so….way to go!

Leave a Reply

