Quick Meal Inspirations

image

Quick French Onion Soup

Okay so this is a healthier version of one of my fav soups – French Onion. Usually soups take forever it seems, but this recipe is from eatingwell.com and it takes about 30 minutes. It was super filling and the gruyere cheese made it feel like the real thing.  We served it with a little mini sandwich – some lean deli ham and a piece of reduced fat swiss cheeese toasted up on Arnold brand Sandwich Thins. They are only 100 calories and are 100% whole wheat with flax and fiber. But they don’t taste as healthy as they sound 🙂

Check out the recipe by clicking on the picture!

Next up is a quick breakfast scramble I made this past weekend. No official recipe but here’s what I used (which is a reflection of what was left in my fridge from the week!)

3 Eggs
1/2 green pepper
1/4 cup red onion
1/4 c 2% shredded cheese (pick your fav kind – just make sure it’s reduced fat)
2 Turkey Sausage patties

Instructions: I diced up the pepper and onion and sauteed it up with a little Pam spray on medium high heat. Once these were to my liking, I cut up the turkey sausage patties and heated them up in the pan along side the veggies. (they are pre-cooked if you get something like the Jimmy Dean brand). Meanwhile, I beat the eggs up and added just a little bit of skim milk. I poured the egg mixture into the pan on top of everything and scrambled. Cook until the eggs are to your liking and plop it on a plate. Add 1/4 cup shredded cheese and a little salt and pepper or crushed red pepper to flavor. You are ready for a hearty breakfast! You can always reduce the amount of eggs or use egg whites/egg substitute to make it even healthier. On my current eating plan, I have a hard time getting all my meat in – so this was a good option for me!

See you tomorrow, folks!

Breakfast Scramble

Leave a comment

January 8, 2012 · 10:04 pm

Leave a Reply

