Caution: Now Returning to Reality

Today is my first day back to work. This last week has been a great way to start this journey of eating totally differently and getting some good perspective on what I want for myself in 2012. But, this morning, even though fate didn’t want me to get to work (alarm clock mysteriously didn’t go off!), here I am – back to reality.

Next week, students will be back on campus and this quiet lull will be totally over, and I know it will feel like a distant memory because I will all of a sudden be crazy busy with appointments, meetings, deadlines and teaching. I’m trying hard to spend this week trying to prepare for what my “real life” will bring and how I’m going to still eat healthy and work out as part of my all the time routine.

My first attempt to make this new lifestyle something that is here to stay is to let everyone I know that I’m doing something different. I think that getting support from people you work with, live with, socialize with is super important to meeting your goals. This blog is a part of that – because I feel like when I’m sharing something so openly, it’s almost a bigger commitment because more people are watching. That kind of pressure can be a good thing when trying to create a new habit! So if you’ve set some goals for yourself this year – the first thing you can do to help you on your way is to let everyone know! It makes it a lot harder to go back to old habits that way.

The second thing I’m doing is taking time over the weekend to prepare for the week. For me, my goal is about eating healthy things every 3-4 hours, so that means I can’t just snack on “whatever.” I need to be prepared with decent snacks. So this weekend when I went  grocery shopping, I made sure to buy things that were easily transportable and went ahead and divided things up into portion sizes for the day or week so I could have some of the “preparing” out of the way come the morning rush of getting my lunch packed.

Resources I’m Using

  • The other side of preparing for the week is having a place to write things down so that you don’t have to re-think everything all the time. So maybe you have a calendar in your kitchen, or something you use on your phone or computer at work. I bought this cool little dry erase calendar that is all about meals. So it gives me a space to write out breakfast, lunch and dinner for all 7 days. It’s a good way to just think about stuff in advance and feel like you can just reference it during the week so you don’t have to make any last minute decisions! It’s great, and since it’s dry erase, I’m not throwing away anything and I CAN change things up easily. 
  • I’m not counting calories, so some of the sites I used to use a lot aren’t really helping me out. If you are counting calories, I really liked http://www.myfitnesspal.com. I’ve started using WorkFlowy to write out stuff for the day. It has an app for your phone too so you can update it from the computer or your phone easily. It’s really simple and just like having a notepad really. I just use it to do a food journal everyday, but it has lots of other uses, too!
  • I’m also a huge fan of Chalene Johnson and I have her PUSH book that is really great at helping you set goals and stick to them. I’m still reading through it – but it’s given me some good ideas and it has some great recipes, too.
  • Lastly, I’m back to drinking my Shakeology every day as a mid morning snack. It’s a perfect combo for a snack because i can get protein, dairy and a healthy fat….plus it tastes like a treat which makes me happy. I do sell Shakeology, but this blog is not about selling stuff, so if you are interested – you can check out my link or ask me a question.

I’m sure i’ll be adding other resources along the way – but those are a few things I’m doing to stay on track as I’m returning to the reality of working full time, teaching classes in the evening and trying to still get my work out and family life on. What resources are you using that have helped you stick to your goals?

1 Comment

Filed under goals, resources, weight loss

One response to “Caution: Now Returning to Reality

  1. warwickbeauchamp

    Great post – you can find some of my resources for getting things done below…

    I’m in the process of writing a book on goal setting and achievement myself – would appreciate you having a look and giving me any feedback… If you’d be kind enough to fill in the questionnaire there’ll be a free copy of the book for you when it’s published!

    Have a look here: smartgoalsetting.co

    All the best for achieving your goals in 2012!!!!

Leave a Reply

