So what is your PLAN, anyway?

 I’ve been reading a lot of facebook updates on new years resolutions and I think it’s inspiring to see all the wonderful things my friends and family have on the horizon. If you haven’t taken some time to sit down and think about your goals for 2012 – I encourage you to do that right now. You might just have 1 – that’s okay! Just make sure your goal is about YOU, for instance, don’t make a goal of your husband not snoring anymore. That’s his problem 🙂

So I’ve shared that my goal for this year is to lose 30 pounds – and I’m committed. I’ve spent this week acclimating to a new approach to eating. This is part of my plan to a more healthy life so I can live longer and stronger.

What I’m doing is sort of opposite of so many diets I’ve done before in my life. I’m actually eating more food than I was eating before – but the trick of the trade is to eat the right TYPES of food and to keep the make up of your meals varied. I’m utilizing the Exchange System to guide my daily intake – that’s right – no counting calories. So it’s really weird and I’m glad I’ve had a week to spend getting used to the differences. Exchanges are broken down into Starches, Dairy, Fat, Fruit, Vegetables and Meat. When I met with my nutrition guide at TNT Total Fitness, she gave me a breakdown of how I should be incorporating each of these into my diet. For me – a non-fruit eater (I know – weird! But maybe I’ll save it for another post), she picked a break down that only requires me to have 4 servings of fruit a day which is do-able for me via fruit juices/smoothies.

I’m also eating WAY more often – so never having more than 3-4 hours between meals/snacks. My snacks are way more intense than I’m used to – for instance, a few weeks ago I would just have some yogurt as a snack or some goldfish crackers. But now – a snack would mean a sugar free pudding, 2 cup carrots with 1 tbsp of hummus and fruit juice. Wow – way different, huh?

My plan definitely requires PRE-planning, in fact, I’ve already made up my grocery list for the next week. I picked out 7 recipes so I’ll have lunch and dinner for the entire week (minus 1 meal where I get to “cheat”). I’ll be making lots of stuff in advance – particularly my snacks. My plan also includes exercise 5 days a week.

How specific have you gotten with you plan to achieve your goal in 2012?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

