Metabolism Testing – The Science behind weight loss

In my efforts to figure out what the *%*# was going on with me…you know the whole, work your tail off and eat healthy yet gain weight thing, I started to do a little research. I found a place called TNT Get Fit here in the area and they do a whole range of stuff, but I was most interested in the Metabolism Testing. This test measures how many calories you (actually you, not a national average) burn at rest.

When I got there, I had to fill out a short form about me and then we moved into the actual test. There’s a little machine with this long tube, and you have to breathe via the tube for 10 minutes. They have a clip that goes on your nose so you can’t breathe out of your nose. It felt a lot like snorkeling, so for those of you who know me – it was sort of a panicked experience for me. I kept having flashbacks of being attacked by fish. 🙂

I’ll be honest, I didn’t really like trying to breathe through my mouth for 10 minutes, I found it to be a little difficult, but I got through it. The good thing is, it’s not painful, just awkward, and sort of this feeling of panic about drooling in front of a stranger. After the 10 minutes, the machine spits out your results and my TNT gal went over them with me.

The first thing she said blew me away. “The good news is – your metabolism is extremely high.” My immediate reaction: “WHAT?! Then why have i always had a weight problem?” Okay, that might be sugar coating it a bit. But you get the idea.

Argh. You know those people? You know, with high metabolisms? And how they can eat whatever they want and not gain a pound. I hate those people.  Apparently, I am one of “those people”…but I’ve been doing some stuff pretty wrong and it’s impacting my ability to lose weight. Hence, the part where i can’t eat whatever i want and not gain any weight thing.

For the past year or so, I’ve been trying to be keep my calorie intake to about 1600 calories a day now, and I’ve used about a zillion ways of tracking calories. And for the last few weeks, I’ve been pretty good at keeping this up with the help of myfitnesspal.com.  I’ve been working out 4-5 times a week in addition to keeping my calories low. When I told my TNT gal this – she told me that my body actually needed about 2050 calories a day to be in weight loss mode based on the fact that I burn (at rest) 2232 calories per day. That makes me feel better about being lazy 🙂

But this news was pretty big. I mean, Wow. This is the first time someone has ever told me “Dre, you should eat more.”

I always rolled my eyes at people who say things like “Oh i can’t lose weight because I’m not eating enough and my body thinks it’s starving and it’s holding onto all the fat & calories.”

Once again, i find myself eating my words (no pun intended). Apparently my body is doing just that – holding on to everything i eat because I’m not eating enough to properly fuel it with my workouts and all that jazz.This dates back to the hunter/gatherer era I think – our body has a defense mechanism when it’s not sure when the next meal will be. Oh my body thinks it’s SO smart! 🙂

A mystery has been solved, and it’s all coming together now. I need to keep up the healthy habits of eating well and working out – but i’ve gotta add a few snacks to give my body some extra fuel.

Little did I know that adding a few snacks is just ONE component of the lifestyle changes I needed to make. But that sounds like a different post.

Leave a comment

Filed under goals, weight loss

Leave a Reply

