What this blog isn’t about

So, I know about  10 zillion people who are going to commit to a healthy new lifestyle come the first day of 2012. You know – the ones who say they will lose weight, stop smoking, eat less fried pie (really?) and the like. The ones who take over your gym for about a month, making every cardio machine a race with the clock because they are actually enforcing the 30 minute time limit rule.

This blog isn’t going to be about that.

This isn’t a new resolution for me, and by the way – check the date folks, it’s not 2012 yet. 🙂 I’ve been on this health journey of sorts for awhile now – really the last 4 years of my life have been the beginning of something totally different for me. I was never the athlete, in fact, I sat the bench most of high school volleyball “career.” I have always been  chubby, if not just plain overweight – but not so much so that I felt excluded from society or anything. I’m not going to be a contestant on the biggest loser (p.s. Love that show, but always feel badly when I’m eating my dinner while watching it). I’m just a normal person trying to be healthier – so I can live longer and stronger. I lost 30 pounds as of last year and only had about 15 more to lose, but put back on about 12 of it this year even though I was still working out, counting calories and doing “all the right things.”

It’s frustrating, isn’t it? When you know what is supposed to work, and maybe it does for awhile and then it just stops working? Something changes and you are left pedaling backward trying to figure out how to move forward again. So, that’s what this blog is going to be about for the most part. I’m not super woman and I’m not someone who will work out for 6 hours a day and eat lettuce for lunch (aka Crazy Lady). I’m just me and I think that writing this stuff down might help me stay on track as I figure out how to finally lose these 30 pounds and what being 30 is all about.

I do have a plan, and my first day was today – but that is for a different post. I hope you’ll come along with me for the journey. Maybe we can help each other out. Thanks for stopping by!

1 Comment

Filed under goals, weight loss

One response to “What this blog isn’t about

  1. Yay! I’m excited to read about your journey. You’re a great story teller and inspiring!

Leave a Reply

